Chief Jake McCullough Jr. Memorial Award

On November 7, 1981, Hannahville Tribal Police Officer Chief Jake J. McCullough was seriously injured in a two vehicle accident in Escanaba, Michigan while on duty. Chief McCullough died on December 5, 1981 at Marquette General Hospital as a result of injuries sustained in this accident. Chief McCullough was appointed the first Chief of Police on the Hannahville Indian Reservation in 1974 after graduating from the Indian Police Academy in Brigham City, Utah. In 1996 the Hannahville Tribal Police Department established an award to honor outstanding community service performed by a Tribal Officer. The award shall be given annually to the Officer who exemplifies outstanding service, accomplishment, and achievement contributing to community life. The recipient shall be recognized as "Officer of the Year." Below is a list of past recipients for "Officer of the Year."

Officer Of the Year

1996 - Officer Ron Robinson
1997 - Sergeant Kim Pepin
1998 - Corporal Lloyd Polfus
1999 - Officer Brian Williams
2000 - Officer David Johnson
2001 - Chief Tom Hayward
2002 - Officer Shawn Hansen
2003 - Captain Robin Halfaday
2004 - Officer Justin Poupore
2005 - Officer Justin Hansen
2006 - Officer Gary Sovey
2007 - Officer Kenneth Taylor
2008 - N/A
2009 - N/A
2010 - N/A
2011 - Officer Nick Pellegrini
2012 - Officer Evan Bergstrom
2013 - Sgt. Justin Hansen
2014 - Officer Nick Pellegrini
2015 - SRO Evan Bergstrom

End of Watch: December 5, 1981

Tribute to Jake McCullough by Congressman Bart Stupak to Congress
In 1994, Jake was added to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington D.C.

Other Department Awards

Lifesaving Citation

Chief's Commendation

Memorial Citation

Citation for Bravery

Top Gun